GBC Home
GBC Faculty Senate

Faculty Senate is a representative body. Membership of Senate is divided into categories, or "containers," which reflect but do not exactly mirror actual academic departments. This is necessary in order to maximize representation in a manageable manner with the present operating size of the institution.

"Containers" are established and condensed at the sole discretion of the Senate Chair. Every member of Senate, as defined by the Faculty Senate Bylaws, is assigned to a "container." Representative votes are then allocated at a 2:1 ratio (truncated) within each "container" (with the exception of Adjunct Faculty who are provided two representatives and two votes by provision of the Faculty Senate Bylaws). Those individuals holding votes are determined by the membership of each "container." These representatives are referred to as 'Senators.' For a list of current Senators, click the button below. Although attendance and active participation by all members of Senate is welcomed and encouraged, these Senators are the sole voting voice during Senate meetings. They are responsible for voting according to the wishes of the membership of their "container."


The number of Senators determines quorum for each Senate meeting. Quorum is determined at half + one of the total number Senators (voting representatives). Quorum can fluctuate according to hires and departures during the academic year.

*Viewing requires the installation of MS Word on your computer.

Great Basin College - 1500 College Parkway - Elko, Nevada 89801 - 775.738.8493
A member institution of the Nevada System of Higher Education
Accredited by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities
All rights reserved. Use of any content only by express permission of Great Basin College © 2016.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

This page is XHTML 1.0 compliant

This page is coded to conform to XHTML 1.0