Skip to main content
GBC logo against State of Nevada seal. Click to go to the home page graphic.


Kimberly Myers
Administrative Assistant
Great Basin College
1500 College Parkway
Elko, NV 89801
E-mail: kimberly.myers

GBC Faculty Senate page title graphic.

GBC Faculty Senate

The Faculty Senate at Great Basin College is the governing body for the faculty and represents professional academic and administrative faculty according to definitions found in the Nevada System of Higher Education Board of Regents Handbook. The Faculty Senate reports directly to the Great Basin College President. Faculty Senate is a representative senate. Senate members actively participate in the establishment and implementation of policies and procedures that promote and ensure student and faculty activities and educational advancement. Visit the GBC Faculty Senate Search Page.


Faculty Senate convenes once a month during the academic year. All members of Senate, as defined by the Great Basin College Faculty Senate Bylaws, are encouraged to attend and participate. The Senate Executive Committee (Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary, Committee Chairs) meets to set the agenda for the full Senate meetings. To view scheduled meetings, consult the online Faculty/Staff Events Calendar or click for the GBC Faculty Senate Meeting Calendar.

See also: Board of Regents Calendar.


Faculty Senate is a representative body. Click here for a list of current voting members.

Although attendance and active participation by all members of Senate is welcomed and encouraged, voting representatives are the sole voting voice during Senate meetings. Voting representatives are responsible for familiarizing themselves with the Packet for each meeting and the wishes of their constituents before a meeting occurs.


Standing, ad hoc, and baccalaureate degree committees address a wide range of issues which directly relate to Great Basin College and the Nevada System of Higher Education activities.


Each year the Faculty Senate Chair works to execute and oversee the duties of Faculty Senate as outlined in the Great Basin College Faculty Senate Bylaws. The Senate Chair Elect (Vice Chair) becomes the Chairperson for the next year starting with the last meeting of the spring semester. In the beginning of the Fall semester, Senate members agree to membership on Senate committees. The chairperson from each committee becomes a member of the Faculty Senate Executive Committee. The past senate chair serves as an ex-officio member of the Senate Executive Committee. The current leaders are listed below.

Faculty Senate Officers
David Sexton photo.


Dave Sexton, E-mail:

Daniel Bergey photo. Vice-Chair:

Daniel Bergey, E-mail:

Donald Jones photo.

Secretary / Parliamentarian:

Donald Jones, E-mail:


Support Staff:

Kimberly Myers, E-mail:



Faculty Senate elections are held in the spring of each year according to the Great Basin College Faculty Senate Bylaws. Professional full-time academic and administrative faculty may serve as Senate officers. Officers typically serve a one-year term and may include Senate Chair, Senate Chair Elect (Vice Chair) and Secretary.

For More Information Contact

Kimberly Myers
Administrative Assistant
Great Basin College
1500 College Parkway
Elko, NV 89801

Return to top

Why Great Basin College

Great Basin College, "The Gold Standard in the Silver State", offers associate and baccalaureate level education in academic, career and technical fields. Welcoming over 4,000 students annually from all corners of the country, both online and at our various campuses and centers, GBC's presence extends across two time zones and spans more than 86,000 square miles throughout Nevada. A leader in rural higher education, GBC takes pride in developing students who are well-prepared to meet the demands of industry and who contribute to the success and prosperity of the local economy.

We Are GBC graphic.
Viewing PDF files require the Adobe Reader for your browser, available free fromĀ Adobe. Viewing XLS or XLSX files requires Microsoft Excel.